mackatackblog

Behringer FCB1010 mods and more!

Behringer FCB1010: PCB Bliss

Sorry for not updating a while, but here’s what happened in the meanwhile:

The DIY printed circuit board I created myself had some errors that I tried to fix by cutting some traces on the board and soldering new wires to replace the traces, while this worked it didn’t really feel dependable anymore. As I promised myself before, this thing should be tough and dependable. Though for testing I figured it should suffice and I could just order some nice manufactured PCBs in the meanwhile. Then I discovered another mistake in the design, as shown in the picture below I wired the connector for the upper button/led panel wrong. Led1, Led2, Led3, lbtn4, Led5, is not how the connector is wired 😛 Analysing the impact of this error led me to discarding my DIY-board alltogether, since it required me to reroute too many traces.

The reason I’m posting now is that the manufactured boards have finally arrived. Well, “finally”, because 1 week is blazingly fast in my honest opinion (props to www.eurocircuits.com). Yesterday I prepared a little bit by desoldering all the components from the old board, so tonight I can spend by soldering everything onto the new board. As you can see I ordered some extra boards, so once I’m done programming everything I will make those available to anyone interested (price yet to be decided). I’ve already updated everything on my FCBInfinity GitHub repository so you can make a PCB yourself or have one made for you by a PCB service. Everything will be open source, the source code as well, so you too can do anything you want with this device.

The shiny new PCBs manufactured by http://www.eurocircuits.com

Leave a comment